Useful Miso FYIs - Deepstash

Bite-sized knowledge

to upgrade

your career

Ideas from books, articles & podcasts.

Useful Miso FYIs

Organic or GM

If you want miso thats made from soy beans that are organically grown (not genetically modified) look for ones that say yuuki (有機. Most if not all miso that say mutenka (無添加)or additive-free are also non-GM . 

If the miso is made from "kokusan" (国産) or domestic (Japanese) soy beans; this usually means that it's made from non-GM, happy soy beans. 

6. Gluten free

Unless the miso contains barley (麦、mugi) or wheat (小麦、komugu) it is gluten-free, unless it has some not-traditional additives

STASHED IN:

2

MORE IDEAS FROM THE SAME ARTICLE

Miso is a traditional Japanese condiment made by fermenting soybeans with salt and koji, a type of mold used to create a wide variety of fermented foods in Japan. Often, additional ingredients, such as barley, rice, seaweed or even dashi are added to add complexity to the flavor. The result is a ...

There are 3 main subtypes of miso. They are red, white, and awase. 

Awase Miso 合わせ味噌

1. Color as an indicator of the miso's age and saltiness. 

The taste of miso is usually categorized into:

Other Types of Miso you should know about:

5. With/without dashi

3. Shelf life 

Other types of miso you should know about

4. Japanese or non-Japanese miso

(西京味噌) - a priced golden yellow miso traditionally made in the Kyoto/Kansai region. Its sweetness comes from the sugar byproduct produced during fermentation [like in amazake) , low sodium content (5-7%), higher rice koji ratio to soybeans, and a short fermentation period

1 Reaction

Comment

MORE LIKE THIS

It's time to

READ

LIKE

A PRO!

Jump-start your

reading habits

, gather your

knowledge

,

remember what you read

and stay ahead of the crowd!

Takes just 5 minutes a day.


TRY THE DEEPSTASH APP

+2M Installs

4.7 App Score