The Apgar test

The Apgar scoring system gives each newborn a score of 0,1, or 2 across five categories. Zero is given to the worst possible condition, and two is the ideal condition.

  • Activity (muscle tone)
  • Pulse
  • Grimace (reflex irritability)
  • Appearance (skin color)
  • Respiration

The test is performed 1 minute after the baby is born, then again after 5 minutes. A total score of 3 or below is categorized as critically low and in need of immediate medical care.

34 people saved this idea

Save it with our free app: