Read Books Like Magazines - Deepstash
How to properly read a book

Learn more about personaldevelopment with this collection

How to synthesize information from multiple books

How to analyze a book

How to set reading goals

How to properly read a book

Discover 90 similar ideas in

It takes just

13 mins to read

Read Books Like Magazines

Read Books Like Magazines

Skipping a whole page, reading in 5-minute spurts or skimming to find the most interesting parts and then go deep and slow on those.

Reading books this way can be powerful on a few levels:

  • It helps to find the most important knowledge that’s worth going deep on.
  • It helps us slow down so we get the most from what we focus on.
  • It makes reading easier, as it fits well with the modern human’s diminished attention span, and it’s better than not reading.

382

883 reads

MORE IDEAS ON THIS

Fractal Reading For Nonfiction Books

  • Read 2–3 book summaries (Google search). Most books have several summaries containing the best information in the book (the 20 percent of ideas that create 80 percent of value).
  • Listen to an author interview (podcast, Google). Interviews are engaging, and give you the a...

441

1.02K reads

View Your Unread Books As A Reminder Of How Little You Know

View Your Unread Books As A Reminder Of How Little You Know

Intellectual humility gives us a more realistic conception of ourselves and our place in the world, helping us conduct our lives more effectively and harmoniously.

Successfully navigating day-to-day experience mostly requires what we already know, that makes us bel...

337

846 reads

Use Books To Create Space In Your Mind For Great Ideas To Collide

Use Books To Create Space In Your Mind For Great Ideas To Collide

Strategically placed books can affect us consciously and unconsciously. They create a kind of idea space for you that makes productive collisions more likely to happen.

You buy books because there is potentially important information in them, but you leave them unread because some ...

316

749 reads

View Books As An Experiment

View Books As An Experiment

It costs you money and time, but it may pay for itself by changing your life for the better. It’s an experiment. And the more “smart” experiments you perform, the more likely you are to find a breakthrough experiment that changes everything.

Inherent in being a good experi...

336

1.06K reads

“At every moment, you should be reading the best book you know of in the world [for you]. But as soon as you discover something that seems more interesting or more important, you should absolutely discard your current book … because any other algorithm necessarily results in your reading ‘wor...

PATRICK COLLISON

295

761 reads

Success And Buying Too Many Books

Success And Buying Too Many Books

Many of us buy lots of books that go unread and causes us guilt, but that’s a habit that many successful people have they believe they are better off for it.

For those who actually put in the time to read and learn how to learn, a pile of unread books may actually be a sign of int...

346

1.7K reads

Smart Readers And Book Hoarders

Smart readers have a consistent learning ritual. They also learn how to learn, maximizing the value extracted from reading, and take action until they get the result they’re looking for.

Whereas book hoarders judge themselves by the number of books they own, smart readers judge themselve...

338

1K reads

Do Fractal Reading

Do Fractal Reading

The free metadata that books generate (i.e., author interviews, author presentations, book summaries, reviews, quotes, first and last chapters, etc.) is a condensed version of the book, like a fractal, and often just as valuable as the book itself.

This al...

346

1.21K reads

Abandon Good Books For Great Books

Abandon Good Books For Great Books

To make better use of your time, drop your current book if you find one that’s better, but be careful not to abandon it for one with a catchy title. Fractal Reading will help you discern when it’s time to change books.

315

1.71K reads

“I maybe start half the books I get, and I probably finish a third of the books I start. And that works out to finishing 1–2 books per week.” 

PATRICK COLLISON

291

1.29K reads

CURATED FROM

CURATED BY

mrfrost

I control my emotions, not the other way around.

Related collections

More like this

The Reasons To Read More

  1. Reading is our moral duty: We read because knowledge is power. We become weak and are easily manipulated if we don’t read.
  2. Reading is a way to see the future: The truth is old and preserved in most classic books, which is rehashed and repackaged in...

Read the text more than once

To allow for the hermeneutic circle to be effective, re-read the text a few times or at least read the parts that are most interesting to you.

Keep on considering the context as you re-read, particularly if the first reading gave you a better understanding of it.

The maximalist philosophy of reading

The maximalist philosophy of reading

The modern world equates the intelligent person will the well-read person. It's difficult to think of anyone arriving at any worthy insights without having read an impressive number of books.

But despite the pressure to read through multiple awarded and fascinating books, ...

stash-superman-illustration

Explore the World’s

Best Ideas

200,000+ ideas on pretty much any topic. Created by the smartest people around & well-organized so you can explore at will.

An Idea for Everything

Explore the biggest library of insights. And we've infused it with powerful filtering tools so you can easily find what you need.

Knowledge Library

Powerful Saving & Organizational Tools

Save ideas for later reading, for personalized stashes, or for remembering it later.

# Personal Growth

Take Your Ideas

Anywhere

Organize your ideas & listen on the go. And with Pro, there are no limits.

Listen on the go

Just press play and we take care of the words.

Never worry about spotty connections

No Internet access? No problem. Within the mobile app, all your ideas are available, even when offline.

Get Organized with Stashes

Ideas for your next work project? Quotes that inspire you? Put them in the right place so you never lose them.

Join

2 Million Stashers

4.8

5,740 Reviews

App Store

4.7

72,690 Reviews

Google Play

Sean Green

Great interesting short snippets of informative articles. Highly recommended to anyone who loves information and lacks patience.

Ashley Anthony

This app is LOADED with RELEVANT, HELPFUL, AND EDUCATIONAL material. It is creatively intellectual, yet minimal enough to not overstimulate and create a learning block. I am exceptionally impressed with this app!

Shankul Varada

Best app ever! You heard it right. This app has helped me get back on my quest to get things done while equipping myself with knowledge everyday.

samz905

Don’t look further if you love learning new things. A refreshing concept that provides quick ideas for busy thought leaders.

Jamyson Haug

Great for quick bits of information and interesting ideas around whatever topics you are interested in. Visually, it looks great as well.

Laetitia Berton

I have only been using it for a few days now, but I have found answers to questions I had never consciously formulated, or to problems I face everyday at work or at home. I wish I had found this earlier, highly recommended!

Giovanna Scalzone

Brilliant. It feels fresh and encouraging. So many interesting pieces of information that are just enough to absorb and apply. So happy I found this.

Ghazala Begum

Even five minutes a day will improve your thinking. I've come across new ideas and learnt to improve existing ways to become more motivated, confident and happier.

Read & Learn

20x Faster

without
deepstash

with
deepstash

with

deepstash

Access to 200,000+ ideas

Access to the mobile app

Unlimited idea saving & library

Unlimited history

Unlimited listening to ideas

Downloading & offline access

Personalized recommendations

Supercharge your mind with one idea per day

Enter your email and spend 1 minute every day to learn something new.

Email

I agree to receive email updates