Tour de France 2021: everything you need to know - Deepstash
Tour de France 2021: everything you need to know

Tour de France 2021: everything you need to know


236 reads

Tour de France 2021: everything you need to know

Keep reading for FREE

The Tour de France is an annual multiple-stage race held primarily in France. It is made up of 21 stages over 23 days (two are rest days).

In 1903, the Tour de France began as a rivalry between two French sports newspapers: Le Vélo and L’Auto. A L’Auto Journalist proposed the multi-stage race as a way to sell more copies. The six-stage event over 18 days was won by Frenchman Maurice Garin and is still the biggest cycling race.


199 reads

Tour de France 2021

The Tour de France normally starts in July, but the 2021 Tour de France has been brought forward to accommodate the Tokyo Olympic Games. It started on June 26 as a result.

The five key stages are:

  • Wednesday 30 June – stage 5: Changé to Laval Espace Mayenne (27km, individual time trial)
  • Wednesday 7 July – stage 11: Sorgues to Malaucène (199km)
  • Sunday 11 July – stage 15: Céret to Andorre-La-Vieille (191km)
  • Wednesday 14 July – stage 17: Muret to Col du Portet (178km, summit finish)
  • Thursday 15 July – stage 18: Pau to Luz Ardiden (130km, summit finish)


14 reads

Wearing the yellow jersey

There are several classifications based on a range of criteria.

  • The general classification (GC) ranks riders according to their overall time. The leader of the GC wears the yellow jerseyThe rider with the fastest overall time at the end of the race is the Tour de France winner.
  • The mountains classification is based on points accumulated on the Tour's classified ascents. The leader of this classification wears the polka-dot jersey.
  • The points classification is for sprinters, and points are awarded for the top finishers on each stage and intermediate sprints.


13 reads

The most Tour de France wins

The Tour de France is now in its 107th edition. The following riders have won the Tour de France five times:

  • Jacques Anquetil (1957, 1961 - 1964)
  • Eddy Merckx (1969 - 1972, 1974)
  • Bernard Hinault (1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985)
  • Miguel Indurain (1991 - 1995)

Merckx is considered the greatest cyclist of all time. He won the 1969 combination classification, combativity award, points competitions and the Tour overall, and the King of the Mountains jersey in his first appearance.

Jean Robic won the Tour in 1947 despite not earning the yellow jersey.


10 reads


It's time to
Read like a Pro.

Jump-start your

reading habits

, gather your



remember what you read

and stay ahead of the crowd!

Save time with daily digests

No ads, all content is free

Save ideas & add your own

Get access to the mobile app

2M+ Installs

4.7 App Rating