Is it better to drink cow's milk or a dairy-free alternative?
It is important not to assume that milk alternatives are the same as cow's milk.
If you do decide to use a dairy-free alternative, you won’t necessarily be missing out on vital nutrients if you eat a balanced diet.
SIMILAR ARTICLES & IDEAS:
The “best” diet is a theme: an emphasis on vegetables, fruits, whole grains, beans, lentils, nuts, seeds, and plain water for thirst.
That can be with or without seafood; with or...
Because they are just one ingredient: avocado, lentils, blueberries, broccoli, almonds, etc.
...is the amount of sparkling water Americans drink each year.
Sparkling waters are the latest in health chic, providing all the fizzy refreshment of a soft drink with none of those wi...
It describes water with carbon dioxide dissolved into it.
CO₂ can be introduced through natural processes, or by artificially injecting the gas into water while it is under pressure. Its addition gives these beverages their satisfying hiss-pop and effervescence.
Can also be found under the name "sparkling water".
Vegan fast food alternatives may often be worse for your health than the meat equivalent. It is good that people start to think about plant-based foods, but the danger lies in thinking t...
Plant-based protein sources are not the same as animal protein sources. Proteins are made up of amino acids which are the building blocks of every cell and hormone in our body. Meat protein contains all nine essential amino acids, whereas plant-based protein usually lacks at least one of the nine essential amino acids our body needs.
Unripe jackfruit makes a convincing choice for pulled pork alternatives, curries and burgers. But it is almost valueless if you needed protein since jackfruit consists of carbohydrates. Vegan burgers are made up of beans, but this is not a complete protein source.
One study found that 25% of vegans (mainly women) had very low blood iron levels, compared to 0% of omnivores.
Plants like whole grains, legumes and spinach are high in iron but is not always the best type. Animal sources contain haem iron. Non-haem iron, found in plants, is not as well absorbed by the body.