French Open History, Facts And Winners - Deepstash
French Open History, Facts And Winners

French Open History, Facts And Winners


2.5K reads

French Open History, Facts And Winners

Keep reading for FREE

The French Open

  • The French Open is an annual tennis tournament event. It is held at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris, France, and is one of the four Grand Slam tournaments in tennis.
  • The French Open was established in 1891. It was exclusively a men's tournament and only for residents of France. Six years later, the ladies' tournament was introduced.
  • The French Championships became international in 1925, but the participants were still restricted to amateurs.
  • In 1928, a tennis stadium was built and named Roland Garros, after France's war hero.


793 reads

French Open Facts

  • Roland Garros is the only Grand Slam tournament played on clay courts.
  • In 1940 there was no competition in the French Open due to World War II.
  • In 1968, the French Open became the first Grand Slam tournament to open to non-amateur players.
  • The women's singles event winner receives the Coupe Suzanne Lenglen, which is named after the greatest female player in French tennis history, Suzanne Lenglen.
  • The men's singles champion receives Coupe des Mousquetaires, named after the Four Musketeers of French tennis: Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, and René Lacoste.


520 reads

Early Notable French Open Winners

  • H. Briggs was the first French Championship winner who defeated P. Baigneres.
  • 1897. Adine Masson became the first ladies' tournament champion when she defeated P. Girod 6-3 6-1.
  • 1925. Suzanne Lenglen was the first Grand Slam title winner in the women's singles and René Lacoste in the men's singles.
  • Max Decugis, a French player, won 8 titles before WWI.
  • 1938. Don Budge is the only American to win 4 Grand Slams in one year.
  • 1956. Althea Gibson is the first African-American to win a Grand Slam title.
  • Chris Evert holds the most French Open championship titles in the women's singles.


273 reads

French Open Winner (1970 - 2000)

  • 1970. Australia's Margaret Court became the first woman to win all four Grand Slam titles in one year.
  • 1972. Andres Gimeno from Spain became the oldest French Open champion at 34 years old.
  • 1988. Steffi Graf won all 4 Gland Slam titles and the gold medal in tennis at the Summer Olympics.
  • 1989. At age 17, Michael Chang became the youngest male player in the Open Era to win the Roland Garros.
  • 1990. At age 16, Yugoslavia's Monica Seles won her first Grand Slam tennis tournament. She also won the next two consecutive years.
  • 2000. Mary Pierce was the last French national to win the Roland Garros.


272 reads

The King of Clay

Rafael Nadal has only lost three times in his 108 matches in over 16 years in the French Open. He holds 13 Roland Garros titles.


642 reads


It's time to
Read like a Pro.

Jump-start your

reading habits

, gather your



remember what you read

and stay ahead of the crowd!

Save time with daily digests

No ads, all content is free

Save ideas & add your own

Get access to the mobile app

2M+ Installs

4.7 App Rating